Trigger campaigns allow you to send notifications to your users based on a specific action triggered in the app. This is useful to manage a wide variety of use cases, from abandoned cart notifications to onboarding notifications, and more.

Understanding How User Journeys Work

In order to enter the user journey and receive a push notification from a trigger campaign, users need to :

  1. Trigger: Trigger the event specified in the campaign (e.g. add to cart). Users immediately exit the user journey when they trigger the cancellation event (e.g. checkout).
  2. Timer: Wait until the timer set in the campaign is finished. The timer will be reset if users perform again the trigger action.
  3. Targeting: Match the targeting set in your campaign when the timer is finished.

They may enter the user journey again after receiving a push notification if they trigger again the right event. They will receive another notification from that campaign depending on the frequency capping limit and the grace period set in the campaign.

You can see how many users are still waiting for the timer to finish or why they exited the user journey from the campaigns analytics:

Modifying the User Journey

Here are all the options you can modify in a trigger campaign:

1. Modifying the Trigger

Trigger event
Users who performed the trigger event before you modified it will remain in the waiting queue.

Cancellation event
The new cancellation event will be taken into account immediately, even for users who are already in the waiting queue.

2. Modifying the Timer

Increasing the timer duration
Batch will apply the new timer duration for users who are already in the waiting queue and for new users entering the user journey.

Decreasing the timer duration
Batch will only apply the new timer duration for new users entering the user journey. 

Users who were already in the waiting queue will receive a notification based on the previous timer duration.

3. Modifying the Targeting

Users will remain in the waiting queue even if you modify the targeting of your campaign. They will exit the user journey if they don't match anymore the targeting of the campaign once the timer is finished.

4. Modifying the Frequency Capping Limit

The new frequency capping limit will be applied immediately to users who enter the user journey.

Regarding users who already received several push notifications from your campaign, Batch will apply the new capping limit the next time they enter the user journey.

E.g. If your trigger campaign had a capping limit of 5 push notifications and you decrease it to 3, users who already received 3 notifications and were in the user journey when you modified the campaign will receive a notification.

The new frequency capping limit will be applied the next time they enter the user journey. They will not receive another notification from that campaign as they already reached the limit.

Did this answer your question?